On Saturday 22 April 2023, the Old Reptonian Football Club defeated the Old Carthusians in the Arthur Dunn Cup final.

The Old Carthusians, who have dominated the competition for the past 20 years, lost on penalties following an epic battle between arguably the best two sides in the competition. For the first time in the ORFC’s rich history, they retained the Arthur Dunn Cup!

Rivalry with the Carthusians extends right back to the inception of the competition, with Repton being defeated by Charterhouse in each of the first four years from 1902/03, two of these defeats being in the final. The 2023 Arthur Dunn Final will be the 38th match versus the Old Carthusians and so far the record stands at won 13, drawn 4 and lost 20. With such close statistics, it was no doubt this would be a nail-biting match.

It is important to recognise the immense achievement of the ORs, as current holders of the Dunn Cup (winners in 2022), in reaching the final again this year. Repton has won twelve finals in the history of the competition, but only once before have they managed to reach the final in the subsequent year … that was in 1911/12 when there were 24 entrants, and we were defeated by Malvern in the final.

Having seen a 7-1 victory over the Old Etonians last year's final, Captain Alex Evan’s message to the squad pre-match was that they cannot expect today to be as easy, but we should not fear OCs squad by any means. The team put on an amazing performance throughout the incredible end to an epic battle over 120 minutes ending penalty shoot-out. It was Captain Alex Evans who stepped up to take the final penalty shot, nestling into the corner and securing the win! 3-0 OR.

It was great to see so much support on the sidelines, we look forward to watching your success in the future!

ORFC Arthur Dunn Final 22 April 2023 Squad

Oli West, P'10 (GK)
Alex Evans, N'04 (C)
Jack Bull,  O'12
Andy Evans, N'06
Eemeli Heiskanen, P'19
Oli Hickman, O'17
Will Norcross, S'12
Max Raine, C'17
Josh Riley, P'11
Jake Raine, C'15


James Parton, C'13
Ben Mann, P'11
Tom Nevill, O'12
Tom Buffin, S'14
Tom Jones, S'17


Nicky Samra, N'0